Springhurst Teacher Rosen Wins Presidential Math And Science Award

  • Comment
Josh Rosen is a math specialist at Springhurst Elementary School and winner of a Presidential teaching award. Photo Credit: Daily Voice

DOBBS FERRY, N.Y. -- Springhurst Elementary School Math Specialist Josh Rosen is among 102 teachers named recipients of the Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching.

The Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching is awarded annually to outstanding K-12 science and mathematics teachers from across the country. The winners are selected by a panel of distinguished scientists, mathematicians, and educators following an initial selection process done at the state level.

“It is such an honor to be recognized, but mostly because this award reaffirms that the learning we are engaged in at Springhurst is valued," Rosen said. “Teachers are being acknowledged and that’s important. 

The 2012 honorees represent all 50 states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, and the Department of Defense Education Activity Schools. Rosen and the other educators will receive their awards at an upcoming Washington, D.C. event.

Winners of this Presidential honor receive a $10,000 award from the National Science Foundation to be used at their discretion. They also are invited to Washington, D.C., for an awards ceremony and several days of educational and celebratory events, including visits with members of Congress and the Administration, professional development and a White House tour.

“These teachers are inspiring today’s young students to become the next generation of American
scientists, mathematicians, and innovators,” President Obama said in a statement. “Through their passion and dedication, and by sharing their excitement about science, technology, engineering, and math,
they are helping us build a promising future for all our children.”

“This is an incredible and well-deserved honor for Mr. Rosen and we are so proud of him,” said Springhurst Principal Julia Drake.

Principal Drake was the one who nominated Mr. Rosen for the award back in February 2012. In between then and last month’s announcement, Rosen was required to submit a video of a lesson, three letters of recommendation and approximately 15 pages of narrative.

The Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST) has been in existence for the past 30 years going back to President Reagan’s administration.

  • Comment


In Other News


Chappaqua's Clintons Will Be Grandparents, Chelsea Announces


Ardsley Bear Sighting Recalls '97 Greenburgh Incident


Bid To Bring Back New York's Empire State Games Fizzles


Hartsdale Runner Returns to Boston Marathon 'Stronger'